The Stray Cats’ debut US album, ‘Constructed for Velocity,’ was launched 40 years in the past as we speak

Capitol Data/UMe

At present marks the fortieth anniversary of the discharge of the Stray Cats‘ debut U.S. album, Constructed for Velocity.

The 12-track assortment, which stays the rockabilly trio’s most profitable album thus far, really is a compilation that includes highlights from the Lengthy Island, New York, group’s first two U.Okay. studio efforts — 1981’s Stray Cats and Gonna Ball — together with one beforehand unreleased tune, “Constructed for Velocity.”

The Constructed for Velocity album peaked at #2 on the Billboard 200 and was saved out of the highest spot by Michael Jackon‘s Thriller. The report yielded two of the Stray Cats’ signature tunes, “Stray Cat Strut” and “Rock This Town,” which reached #3 and #9, respectively, on the Billboard Scorching 100.


The Stray Cats — singer/guitarist Brian Setzer, double bassist Lee Rocker and drummer Slim Jim Phantom — fashioned in Massapequa, New York, in 1979. After the band relocated to the U.Okay. in 1980, their genuine retro-rockabilly sound and magnificence shortly gained them a following there.

Rocker tells ABC Audio that The Rolling Stones had been “actually integral” to getting his band media consideration “earlier than we even had a report deal.”

As Lee remembers, “They had been exhibiting up at these little gigs we had been doing in London, and, as you possibly can think about …proper behind them was a cadre of photographers and press individuals. In order that they helped shine a light-weight.”


The Stones even invited The Stray Cats to open for them throughout their 1981 tour. The trio quickly headed again to the U.S. and, after Constructed for Velocity‘s launch, the band’s reputation soared, thanks partly to MTV placing movies for “Stray Cat Strut” and “Rock This City” into heavy rotation.

Constructed for Velocity went on to promote over 1 million copies within the U.S. This is the album’s full observe checklist:


“Rock This City”
“Constructed for Velocity”
“Rev It Up & Go”
“Stray Cat Strut”
“Little Miss Prissy”
“Rumble in Brighton”
“Runaway Boys”    
“Lonely Summer season Nights”
“Double Talkin’ Child”
“You Do not Consider Me”
“Jeanie, Jeanie, Jeanie”
“Child Blue Eyes”


Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Adblock Detected

To browse our website, please disable your Ablocker.